Archiving Teaching and Learning Content
The archival process with UIC Blackboard has been established to balance a need to responsibly manage the amount of data in the Blackboard Learn environment. Courses will continue to be available and visible on your Blackboard’s My Course page for a period of three years after the course was offered. After that period, courses are flagged for archival and then archived by default every June 1. Once a course is archived, the content is no longer available for instructors.
Can I restore my course?
Courses no longer visible in Blackboard can be restored on a case-by-case basis. Restoring a course takes time and resources, therefore, LTS asks that instructors take time to review their old courses every year to preserve a local copy of any course content they wish to reuse. Select the Request Restoration of Archived Course Site button on this page to submit your request.
Requirements for a Course Restoration
Instructors can request a Course Restoration for any of the following reasons:
- Academic integrity investigation.
- Access to student records for a registrar/dean-approved reason.
- Student grade dispute.
Effective June 1, 2022, requesting restoration of a course to retrieve a document or link in an archived course will not be a valid reason to request restoration of an archived course. Please plan ahead or ask LTS@uic.edu for help.